Say What? Sew what?











{March 17, 2011}   So many things…

I actually didn’t think about it being the Ides of March yesterday until I was logging off the computer and saw the day.

No cute St Patty’s day crafts from me.  I thought about, perused some ideas on line and said forget it.  Especially since our weather has been halfway decent here and there, so we went outside and enjoyed the sunshine.  All kids have green picked out tomorrow, so there will be no pinches.  Liam has green as do I that we will wear tomorrow.

I’ve been brainstorming ideas.  I’m thinking about opening my own business and am pretty serious about it.  At first I thought I needed to get a 9-5 job, put myself out there, but then gas prices soared up and all the good jobs are well over half an hour away.  So, I thought why the hell not.  If I have ran my household for the past five years, why couldn’t I run my own business and take charge of my destiny??  I know I’m not going to be getting rich quick and I don’t want to (though getting a winning lottery ticket would be fan-fricking-tastic), I just want to be earning money.  I want to earn a decent amount of money and still be able to be there for my kids.  They’re all used to me being here whenever they needed me to be and my 8 yr old started to freak out when I told her I was looking for a job.  “But, but, but Mommmmm!!!  Who is going to watch us???” she wailed in horror.  (And no, I am not exaggerating.  If you have ever had the pleasure of meeting an 8 and half year old girl, you’d understand).  The only reason I can think of that she would be aghast at that is their father is military and also, for lack of better terminology, likes to step out, and I would always tell them, “Daddy is at work.”

But I am trying not to become overwhelmed by thoughts of business plans, marketing myself and what I’m wanting to do and *choke* accounting.  I can do this.  It’s actually quite perfect for me and I’d say more; however, I’m still in the brainstorming process, thinking if I like the name I thought of as I was suffering from insomnia at 2 am this morning and then the slogan that popped into my head as I was inhaling my Lucky Charms (they’re magically delicious!!) this morning.

I’m also trying not to get to worried about L.  He’s 7 months old, but he’s not rolling.  Refuses to.  No front to back, back to front.  Nothing.  He’ll kind of roll onto his side to try to reach a toy but if he can’t reach it he’ll flop back over and get distracted by his fists or toes.  He uses his feet when he’s on his back to kinda turn himself around so he’s facing where he wants or his arms if he’s on his belly.  He sits unassisted for long periods of time and can usually readjust himself if he starts to fall over.  He’s standing assisted too.  So, I’m not sure if I should be worried or let it go.  But he is a mini-linebacker, so maybe he’s having trouble heaving his body around.  Dr wasn’t worried though, so we’ll see.  He’s baby screaming talking now too, and it sounds like he says, “Hey,” every morning when I get him out of bed.  I wonder if he’s repeating me, because I always say, “Hey, good morning, butters.” (Butters=butterball)

I also have a heap of pink, purple and green shiny fabric staring at me since I tore apart those skirts to use.  I sat down with the girls and we all talked necklines, bows, colors, floofy skirts, etc.  So, I have their dress designs roughly sketched out.

Well, Happy Sewing and have a happy (and safe, don’t drink and drive!) St. Patrick’s Day!

Lots of love,

Jenn

Leave a Reply

et cetera
