Say What? Sew what?











{February 28, 2011}   Onesie to Dress

Well, I tried to take pictures through out the process; however, I was under a time crunch and totally didn’t take pictures towards the end.  That, and my camera battery decided it was time to slowly die.  I will type as much as I can and explain how I did it.  It started as me trying to make a fast dress for a niece prior to us meeting for lunch.  Should take you under an hour–me, however, it took almost 2 hours (thanks to a teething monster, kids’ tiffs, and a couple broken needles).

Materials needed:

Outgrown onesie (or stained)

Matching Fabric:  10″ by whatever width you choose

Scissors or rotary cutter/mat

Coordinating thread

 

Pick an outgrown onesie or one that has a stain–you can applique over the stain should you like!  I chose a chocolate brown onesie that I had set aside to do something for Liam, which got promptly forgot.  He is now too chunky to fit into the 6 month onesie.  I also chose a cute floral fabric I found in the remanent bin at JoAnn’s, because I could choose a flower from the design to applique to the onesie.

Next pick where you want to chop the onesie off at.  Higher up is more empire waist and lower down will be more of a foofy dress (and in my opinion last longer).  I chopped it off at about an inch above the leg holes.

Then measure the circumference of the shirt–mine was 16″ all around.  I doubled this for the width of the fabric to cut out.  On some tutorials I read they added 12″.  It’s up to you, that’s the beauty of this!  Next I cut a piece of fabric 32″ x 10″.  I had to pause for a few minutes to change a diaper and put the teething monster in his highchair with puffs.

Yes my fabric is wrinkled, but my iron was ready to go!  I ironed it flat (yelled at a kid for running through the kitchen with my iron on, coming dangerously close to the board) and then ironed 1/4″ along one long side and then another 1/2″ to create the bottom seam.  If you have a serger you could serge this edge and then iron up 1/2″ or use bias tape or ribbon to finish the hem.  Then sew the seam shut.  Next, feed more puffs since they have now been thrown all over the floor and stuck in hair (sigh…).   Right sides together, match up the bottom seam on the short side to create a tube, sew down the short side, I also overlocked the edge to keep fraying to a minimum, you could serge or zigzag this edge.  Then iron the bottom hem and the seam you just sewn.

Now, this next step is important!  CHANGE YOUR NEEDLE TO A KNIT NEEDLE!!!!!  If not your machine could possible eat your material.

Did you change your needle?? Now pick a design in your material that you would like to use for the front of the shirt.  I ironed interfacing to the back of it before cutting out the flower to decrease the fray factor.  Next zigzag stitch to where ever you would like to be on your shirt.

Now this is where my kids started fighting, the baby screeching (one loud toy plopped on high chair tray) and I realized I had 20 minutes to get out the door!!!  So I forgot to take pictures, please bear with me and I’ll explain it the best I can.

Mark the skirt part and tshirt part’s half and quarters–this will make ruffling, pleating, gathering or however you choose to do your skirt easier.  Match up the center and quarters right sides together.  I chose to make pleats, due to the time crunch (I suck at gathering, I should really get that gathering/ruffling foot).  Now sew 1/2″ (or serge) from the edge of the skirt/shirt junction, remember to take your pins out as you go, this is how I broke 1 needle!!  You can then leave as is if you don’t have a serger, or I overlocked (make sure your machine is actually on overlock since I had to change the presser foot–hence the other broken needle) it to keep fraying down to a minimum.  Iron your seam down towards the skirt part.

You can say you’re done or you can top stitch the skirt (I did, makes it look more polished in my opinion) and then you can say you’re done!  Stand back, admire your work and assure the kid that butterfly does start with a B as in ball and bat and bug. And then go on your way!!!

I hope this all made sense–if not, ask questions or I have another onesie that I will work on and I can insert more pictures into this tutorial.  Make it your own!!  It’s easy peasy.

Happy crafting and lots of love,

J

 

 

 

Jenn!! That looks AWESOME!!! I have so many of A’s onesies that I have been wondering what to do with…now I know! Thank you!



Leave a Reply

et cetera
