Say What? Sew what?











{February 13, 2011}   Perfection?

What makes a person a “perfect” parent?  This was a question posted on a birth board of mine.  I answered love, compassion, patience, yada yada yada.  But I also answered knowing your own faults and admitting when you’re wrong and apologizing for your mistakes.  Being a parent opens up a whole new world and with each kid they’re different too.  I have to parent equally, but yet what works for one child does not work for another (I can look at Little Man crosseyed and he goes back into place, the divas are a bit more hard headed).  I think as long as one educates themselves and then parents in a way that is effective to their family unit, than that is “perfect.”

I’m not perfect.  I’m prone to momtroms at times, but I always apologize afterwards and explain to them that I shouldn’t have acted that way and why.  I try to take everything I or they do and turn it into a lesson.

But I’ve also been thinking about what my kids have taught me and given me…

– they give me a reason to get up in the morning and smile

– they have shown me that the small things in life are the best.  Bouquets of dandilions are the most beautiful bouquet a mom can ever receive.

– crayon squiggles are the most beautiful artwork and when your child writes their name for the first time, it’s the most beautiful written thing you will see.

– “I love you, Mommy” is beautiful to hear.  “Mommy, you’re beautiful!” is the best complement I’ve received.

– the smell of the kids after the bath is the most wonderful scent in the world, especially when they’re snuggled up next to you.

– bugs can be cool and beautiful (they don’t even like it when I swat wasps in the house.  I have to catch them with a glass and release them outside).

– a walk around the block or the flea market is an adventure.

– pancakes aren’t just for breakfast and cake isn’t just for dessert.

– a tiara, pretty dress and imagination can take you away to magic kingdoms.

My kids have taught me how to love again, how to be happy, that it is the small things that matter the most–they’re not going to remember what we had for dinner, but they’ll remember how we ate it outside on the grass in our princess outfits, bubbles are magical and dreams are important.

My life and family may not be perfect, but it’s perfect for us.

DebraB says:

Jenn – you are a GREAT parent!!! And, posts like this prove it. All your posts about your kids just come through with so much love. Thanks for writing this…it’s a simple reminder! 🙂



Leave a Reply

et cetera
