Say What? Sew what?











{April 29, 2010}   Fabric for the boy…

Since I am having a boy, I decided to take mental inventory of my fabric…pink, butterflies, some scrap motorcycles/skull fabric and some fabric appropriate for a baby a boy (read:  monkeys, trains, cars and planes).  But this isn’t just ANY baby boy…this is MY baby boy and being it’s my fifth child, I am over all the babyish crap.  So I decided to see what Joann’s has in nursery fabric and such, maybe something there will spark creative juices.  Spending half an hour (with the 3 Littles) staring at cutesy, nursery and little kids fabric and not feeling the puppies, pastels, monkeys, polka dots, etc…  I expanded my search to the novelty cottons and quilting wall.  DING DING DING DING!!!!

My son is too bad ass for the baby stuff, he needs skulls and dragons and tattoo fabric!!

So I picked up a yard of this Japanese tattoo-ish fabric and yard of this Kanje style fabric for his carseat cover

Fabric for L's carseat cover!!

And then rounded up some black and gray materials for his quilt.  Who said a baby blanket has to have animals, sports crap and vehicles on it???  Not I!!!!!!

Quilt material

I have 2 different skull materials, a grayish swirly manly one, a Chinese dragon one and some black with gray swirls for the backing.  YAY!!!!  I still need to maybe pick up 2 or 3 more (maybe), but I am so psyched about this!!!  This is going to be fricking awesome!!

Happy Sewing!!!

Leave a Reply

et cetera
